Monroe Carell Jr. Children's Hospital at Vanderbilt
Monroe Carell Jr. Children's Hospital at Vanderbilt
Monroe Carell Jr. Children's Hospital at Vanderbilt
Children's Hospital Logo
Connect With Us:

Monroe Carell Jr.
Children's Hospital
at Vanderbilt
2200 Children's Way
Nashville, TN 37232

(615) 936-1000

Children's Hospital Logo
Home / Health Professionals / Surgery Education and Training / George W. Holcomb, Jr. Lecture in Pediatric Surgery
Printer friendly version of this page  E-mail someone a link to this pageBookmark and Share
George W. Holcomb, Jr. Lecture in Pediatric Surgery

This lectureship by the Department of Pediatrics General and Thoracic Surgery is in honor of Dr. George W. Holcomb, Jr., Clinical Professor of Surgery, Emeritus.

George Holcomb, M.D.George W. Holcomb received his B.A. and M.D. degrees from Vanderbilt, graduating in 1946. He served as resident in Surgery at Vanderbilt from 1946 to 1949. Following his Army service in Korea, he completed training in Pediatric Surgery at Boston Children's Hospital in 1952.

Holcomb has been a member and officer of numerous professional societies. He has been president of the Nashville Academy of Medicine and the TMA. He was charter member of the American Pediatric Surgical Association and has served on its Board of Governors. He has served as Editorial Consultant for the Journal of Pediatric Surgery for over 25 years.

Holcomb has had many varied interests in the broad field of children's surgery but is perhaps best known internationally for his contributions to the surgical management of pectus excavatum and biliary disease. His tireless care of sick children spanned four decades until his retirement in 1989, but he remains involved as a friend and advocate of the Monroe Carell Jr. Children's Hospital at Vanderbilt.

This Lectureship was established in honor of Holcomb's contributions to pediatric surgery in Nashville and is endowed through the generosity of his friends, Eleanor and Clark Akers.

Visit our Conferences and Seminars page on the Section of Surgical Sciences website to learn more about our regularly scheduled departmental presentations.

Previous George W. Holcomb, Jr. Lecturers

2017   Anthony D. Sandler, M.D.

2016   Frederick J. Rescorla, M.D.

2015   Marshall Z. Schwartz M.D.

2014   Alan W. Flake M.D.

2013   Kevin P. Lally, M.D.

2012   Thomas. F. Tracy, Jr., M.D.

2011   George K. Gittes, M.D.

2010   Brad W. Warner, M.D.

2009   Edward M. Barksdale, M.D.

2008   Thomas M. Krummel, M.D.

2007   Bradley M. Rodgers, M.D.

2006   Jay L. Grosfeld, M.D.

2005   George W. Holcomb, III, M.D.

2001   H. Beimann Othersen, M.D.

2000   Moritz M. Ziegler, M.D.

1999   Robert J. Touloukian, M.D.

1998   Eric W. Fonkalsrud, M.D.

1997   R. Peter Altman, M.D.

1996   Alfred A. de Lorimier, M.D.

1995   Edwin Ide Smith, M.D.

1994   Thomas M. Holder, M.D.

1993   J. Alex Haller, Jr., M.D.

1992   Lester W. Martin, M.D.

1991   James A. O'Neill, Jr., M.D.

1990   Judson G. Randolph, M.D.

Last Edited: July 25, 2018
Valued Participant of Vanderbilt Health Affiliated Network